How to Obtain a Westchase Florida Police Report
In Westchase, Florida, traffic accidents fall under the jurisdiction of the HCSO (Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office), which is responsible for law enforcement for the 888 square miles of unincorporated areas within the state. In 2018 there were 167 traffic crashes with fatalities in Hillsborough, representing a 19.3% decrease from 2017. However, with 61 such accidents in the 1st four months of 2019, the county stands to rise back up to its average of 180 per year.
After a traffic crash, law enforcement will be in charge of the scene while they focus on calling in necessary first responders, taking down information from involved parties and any witnesses, and then compiling all data for the evidence record. Generally, you will be given the officer’s business card and case number, however, the full Westchase Police Report won’t be available for another 3-5 business days.
If you or a loved one has been injured in a traffic accident, of course, your focus is on medical attention and family. It can be very difficult to keep track of everything that is happening, which is what law enforcement is there to handle. Darrigo, Diaz & Jimenez is a local personal injury firm available to discuss the accident and investigate the scene on your behalf. Call now at (813) 774-3341 for a free consultation.
This resource page is provided as a public service to guide you through pertinent Florida statutes while offering the most expeditious methods for obtaining your Police Report.
Florida Laws for the Custody and Release of Police Reports
Florida Traffic Control Statute § Section 316.066 (Written Reports of Crashes) mandates that all accident Police Reports requests less than 60 days old must be accompanied by a Sworn Statement, a copy of your current photo identification and proof of your exemption which allows you access.
Florida mandates that Police Reports are confidential documents for the first 60 days after the accident. As such, they are only available within the confidential timeframe to exempt parties; defined as involved parties, their representatives, attorneys, and insurance carriers as well as qualified media members.
After 60 days have passed the Police Reports become public records, and no sworn statement or identification is required for copies; although additional approval may be necessary for criminal incidents.
WARNING Any person, knowing that he or she is not entitled to obtain information made confidential by the above law, who obtains or attempts to obtain such information, is guilty of a felony of the third degree.
Requesting a Copy of Your Westchase Police Report
The Public Records Section of the Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office coordinates all requests for Westchase Police Reports, which are processed and released according to Florida Public Records Statute §119.00.
There is no fee for a copy of your Westchase Police Report, whether or not you are an involved party. However, should your inquiry require extensive research or filmed recordings, you will be notified that a deposit is necessary prior to file your request.
The Public Records Section of the Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office coordinates all requests for records, which are processed and released according to Florida Public Records Statute §119.00.
Please note that under Florida law, email addresses are a public record in which law enforcement agencies, as custodians, are required to release if discovered in response to another’s public records request.
Sworn Statement This fillable form from the FLHSMV department is for use by exempt parties, as described at the beginning of this section, during the first 60 days after the accident (aka the confidentiality period).
HCSO Records Section
Phone: (813) 247-0960
Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office, Florida has jurisdiction over all unincorporated areas within the county, including yours. All Police Reports for Westchase are maintained at the location below in Ybor City:
Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office
Freddie Solomon Annex
1900 East 9th Avenue
Tampa, Florida 33605
Hours: 7:00 am – 4:00 pm
Days: Monday – Friday
A letter of request for your Westchase Police Accident Report may be mailed to the following address:
Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office
P. O. Box 3371
Tampa, Florida 33601
If it is within 60 days of the accident date, these records are confidential and only exempt parties and their representatives are allowed to access them. You must include a copy of your driver’s license to verify your identity and involvement in the accident, your case number, and your notarized Sworn Statement.
Once the Police Reports have become public records, no sworn statement or identification is required for non-criminal accident report copies.
DDJ’s Local Personal Injury Attorneys are READY to Help!
With fatalities from traffic crashes hovering near 200 annually in the county of Hillsborough, our firm is dedicated to giving our Westchase clients the strongest legal advantage they can find. If your family has had the misfortune of a traffic fatality, we are here to help protect your rights. Please reach out to Darrigo, Diaz & Jimenez at (813) 774-3341 to schedule a free case evaluation!