How to Obtain a Lutz Florida Police Report
Traffic accidents in the Lutz area of Florida fall under the jurisdiction of the Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office (HCSO), which is responsible for law enforcement services for 888 square miles of unincorporated areas within the state. Unfortunately, fatalities result too often; in 2018 Hillsborough County experienced a total of 167 crashes with fatalities.
At the scene of the crash, law enforcement will be focused on pulling in the necessary first responders, obtaining information from involved parties and witnesses, and then writing up the incident for the evidence record. You will generally be given the officer’s business card and case number, however the full Police Report won’t be available for another 3-5 business days.
If you or a loved one has been injured in a crash it is difficult to keep track of what is happening. Our firm is local and available to discuss the accident and investigate the scene on your behalf. Call Darrigo, Diaz & Jimenez now at (813) 774-3341 for a free consultation.
This resource page is provided as a public service to guide you through pertinent Florida statutes while offering the most expeditious methods to obtaining your Police Report.
Florida Laws for the Custody and Release of Police Reports
Florida Traffic Control Statute § Section 316.066 Written Reports of Crashes mandates that all accident Police Reports requests less than 60 days old must be accompanied by a Sworn Statement, a copy of your current photo identification and proof of your exemption which allows you access.
Florida mandates that Police Reports are confidential documents for the first 60 days after the accident. As such, they are only available within the confidential timeframe to exempt parties; defined as involved parties, their representatives, attorneys and insurance carriers as well as qualified media members.
WARNING Any person, knowing that he or she is not entitled to obtain information made confidential by the above law, who obtains or attempts to obtain such information, is guilty of a felony of the third degree.
Requesting a Copy of Your Lutz Police Report
The Records Section of the HCSO in Florida has provided us with the following details to assist in the acquisition of your Lutz Police Accident Report. You will find specific instructions within the Online, In Person and By Mail sections.
There is no fee for one copy of your Lutz Police Report, whether or not you are an involved party. However, should your inquiry require extensive research, you will be advised that a deposit is needed prior to filling your request.
The Public Records Section of the Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office coordinates all requests for records, which are processed and released according to Florida Public Records Statute §119.00.
Please Note: Under Florida law, email addresses are a public record which law enforcement agencies, as custodians, are required to release if discovered in response to another’s public records request.
Sworn Statement This fillable form from the FLHSMV department is for use by exempt parties, as described at the beginning of this section, during the first 60 days after the accident (aka the confidentiality period).
HCSO Records Section
Phone: (813) 247-0960
Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office, Florida has jurisdiction over all unincorporated areas within the county, including Lutz. All Police Reports for these areas are maintained at the location below in Ybor City:
Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office
Freddie Solomon Annex
1900 East 9th Avenue
Tampa, Florida 33605
Hours: 7:00 am – 4:00 pm
Days: Monday – Friday
A letter of request for your Lutz Police Accident Report may be mailed to the following address:
Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office
P. O. Box 3371
Tampa, Florida 33601
If it is within 60 days of the accident date, these records are confidential and only exempt parties and their representatives are allowed to access them. You must include: a copy of your driver’s license to verify your identity and involvement in the accident, your case number, and your notarized Sworn Statement.
After 60 days have passed the Police Reports become public records, and no sworn statement or identification is required for non-criminal accident reports.
Local Personal Injury Attorneys Available Now
In Hillsborough County alone, traffic accidents increased by 1,120 from 2017 to 2018. It is our firm’s deep commitment to giving our clients the strongest legal advantage they can find. Please reach out to Darrigo, Diaz & Jimenez at (813) 774-3341 to discuss your Lutz accident and to schedule a free case evaluation!