How to Obtain a Gibsonton Florida Police Report
As a CDP (census-designated place), Gibsonton falls under the jurisdiction of Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office (HCSO). The agency provides law enforcement services for 888 square miles of unincorporated areas within the state of Florida. With over 46 inches of rainfall each year, it is astonishing that more than 70% of Hillsborough’s traffic collisions happen under clear skies.
When there is a significant collision with injuries or fatalities, it can be very difficult to keep track of everything you will need to know later. Fortunately, law enforcement will be focused on pulling in the necessary first responders, taking down information from involved parties and witnesses, and then writing up the incident for the evidence record.
You will be able to obtain the officer’s business card and case number before leaving the location, although the official police report won’t be available for another 3-5 business days. As a local personal injury law firm, Darrigo, Diaz & Jimenez is available to discuss the accident and investigate the scene on your behalf. Call us now at (813) 774-3341 for a free consultation.
This resource page is provided as a public service to guide you through pertinent Florida statutes while offering the most expeditious methods for obtaining your Gibsonton Police Report.
Florida Laws for the Custody and Release of Police Reports
Florida Traffic Control Statute § Section 316.066 (Written Reports of Crashes) mandates that all accident Police Reports requests less than 60 days old must be accompanied by a Sworn Statement, a copy of your current photo identification and proof of your exemption which allows you access.
Florida mandates that Police Reports are confidential documents for the first 60 days after the accident. As such, they are only made available (within this confidential timeframe) to exempt parties; defined as involved parties, their representatives, attorneys, and insurance carriers as well as qualified media members.
After 60 days have passed the police reports become public records, and no sworn statement or identification is required for copies; although additional approval may be necessary for criminal incidents.
WARNING Any person, knowing that he or she is not entitled to obtain information made confidential by the above law, who obtains or attempts to obtain such information, is guilty of a felony of the third degree.
Requesting a Copy of Your Gibsonton Police Report
The Public Records Section of the Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office coordinates all requests for Gibsonton Police Reports, which are processed and released according to Florida Public Records Statute §119.00.
There is no fee for a copy of your Gibsonton Police Report, whether or not you are an involved party. However, should your inquiry require extensive research, statements, or filmed recordings, you will be notified that a deposit is necessary prior to fill your request.
The Public Records Section of the Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office coordinates all requests for Gibsonton records, which are processed and released according to Florida Public Records Statute §119.00.
Please note that under Florida law, email addresses are a public record in which law enforcement agencies, as custodians, are required to release if discovered in response to another’s public records request.
Sworn Statement This fillable form from the FLHSMV department is for use by exempt parties, as described at the beginning of this section, during the first 60 days after the accident (aka the confidentiality period).
HCSO Records Section
Phone: (813) 247-0960
Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office, Florida has jurisdiction over all unincorporated areas within the county, including yours. All Police Reports for Gibsonton are maintained at the location below in Ybor City:
Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office
Freddie Solomon Annex
1900 East 9th Avenue
Tampa, Florida 33605
Hours: 7:00 am – 4:00 pm
Days: Monday – Friday
A letter of request for your Gibsonton Police Accident Report may be mailed to the following address:
Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office
P. O. Box 3371
Tampa, Florida 33601
If it is within 60 days of the accident date, these records are confidential and only exempt parties and their representatives are allowed to access them. You must include a copy of your driver’s license to verify your identity and involvement in the accident, your case number, and your notarized Sworn Statement.
Once the Police Reports have become public record, no sworn statement or identification is required for non-criminal accident report copies.
Local Personal Injury Attorneys Available Now
Surprisingly, statistics for Hillsborough County (and the entire state of Florida) demonstrate that 85-95% of traffic accidents occur on dry road surfaces; i.e. no standing water, mud, sand, ice or frost. Darrigo, Diaz & Jimenez law firm is dedicated to encouraging road safety and driver awareness.
When the unexpected happens, you can count on us! Call us now at (813) 774-3341 to discuss your Gibsonton accident and schedule a free case evaluation!