DUI DEFENSE ATTORNEY IN TAMPA FL
Trusted Tampa DUI Defense Lawyers with 75+ Years’ Combined Experience
Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is more than just a traffic violation – it is a serious crime. Whether you have been arrested for the first time or are facing charges for a second, third, or subsequent offense, time is of the essence in securing quality legal representation. With your rights and freedoms threatened by a number of harsh penalties, there is no time to waste in seeking the help of an experienced Tampa DUI defense attorney.
If you are being accused of DUI, it is imperative that you reach out to Darrigo, Diaz, & Jimenez, Attorneys at Law to begin mounting your defense. We are prepared to fight aggressively on your behalf.
Request a free case evaluation when you call (813) 774-3341.
What are the Penalties for DUI in Florida?
DUI is not tolerated in Florida and is severely punished. Individuals convicted of DUI in Florida may face the following penalties:
- Fines of between $500-$1,000 for a first offense and up to $5,000 for a third offense occurring 10 or more years from the previous conviction
- Mandatory 50 hours of community service
- Between six and nine months in jail for a first offense, up to five years in jail for a fourth or subsequent conviction
- Vehicle impoundment
- Minimum 180-day revocation of driver’s license for a first offense, up to permanent loss of driving privileges for certain repeat offenders or felony offenders
- Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
Should I Refuse to Take a DUI Chemical Test in Florida?
Florida has an “implied consent” law. This means that drivers automatically give their consent to participate in chemical testing as a condition of their driving privileges. While a driver can refuse to take a blood, breath, or urine test if asked by law enforcement, they will be subject to a fine and an automatic one-year to 18-month suspension of their driver’s license.
Related information: What Not to Say During a DUI Stop
Felony DUI Crimes in Florida
Most DUI crimes are charged as misdemeanors, but there are some instances in which drivers can face more serious felony charges when certain aggravating factors are present.
DUI is a felony in Florida under the following circumstances:
- The conviction is the driver’s third DUI conviction within ten years of the two prior convictions
- The conviction is the driver’s fourth or subsequent conviction
- The driver caused serious bodily injury to another person
- The driver killed a person or unborn child as a result of an accident they caused (DUI manslaughter)
Call Now to Get Started with Your DUI Defense
If you have been charged with DUI, do not give up hope! An arrest does not make you guilty and you have a legal right to defend yourself against your accusers, but you must act quickly to improve your chances of a successful outcome. By working with a Tampa DUI lawyer at Darrigo, Diaz, & Jimenez, Attorneys at Law, you may be able to preserve your driving privileges and potentially avoid maximum penalties.
Darrigo, Diaz, & Jimenez, Attorneys at Law are available 24/7 to answer your call. To request a free and confidential consultation with our firm, please call us at (813) 774-3341, or fill out an online contact form.