Tampa DUI Attorney
Trusted Tampa Criminal Defense Lawyers with 75+ Years of Combined Experience
Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is more than just a traffic
violation – it is a serious crime. Whether you have been arrested
for the first time or are facing charges for a second, third, or subsequent
offense, time if of the essence in securing quality legal representation.
With your rights and freedoms threatened by a number of harsh penalties,
there is no time to waste in seeking the help of an experienced Tampa
criminal defense attorney.
If you are being accused of DUI, it is imperative that you reach out to
Darrigo, Diaz, & Jimenez, Attorneys at Law to begin mounting your
defense. We are prepared to fight aggressively on your behalf.
Request a free case evaluation when you call (813) 774-3341.
What are the Penalties for DUI in Florida?
DUI is not tolerated in Florida and is severely punished. Individuals convicted
of DUI in Florida may face the following penalties:
- Fines of between $500-$1,000 for a first offense and up to $5,000 for a
third offense occurring 10 or more years from the previous conviction
- Mandatory 50 hours of community service
- Between six and nine months in jail for a first offense, up to five years
in jail for a fourth or subsequent conviction
- Vehicle impoundment
- Minimum 180-day revocation of driver’s license for a first offense,
up to permanent loss of driving privileges for certain repeat offenders
or felony offenders
- Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
Should I Refuse to Take a DUI Chemical Test in Florida?
Florida has an “implied consent” law. This means that drivers
automatically give their consent to participate in chemical testing as
a condition of their driving privileges. While a driver can refuse to
take a blood, breath, or urine test if asked by law enforcement, they
will be subject to a fine and an automatic one-year to 18-month suspension
of their driver’s license.
What Not to Say During a DUI Stop
Felony DUI Crimes in Florida
Most DUI crimes are charged as misdemeanors, but there are some instances
in which drivers can face more serious felony charges when certain aggravating
factors are present.
DUI is a felony in Florida under the following circumstances:
- The conviction is the driver’s third DUI conviction within ten years
of the two prior convictions
- The conviction is the driver’s fourth or subsequent conviction
- The driver caused serious bodily injury to another person
- The driver killed a person or unborn child as a result of an accident they
caused (DUI manslaughter)
Call Now to Get Started with Your DUI Defense
If you have been charged with DUI, do not give up hope! An arrest does
not make your guilty and you have a legal right to defend yourself against
your accusers, but you must act quickly to improve your chances of a successful
outcome. By working with a Tampa DUI lawyer at Darrigo, Diaz, & Jimenez,
Attorneys at Law, you may be able to preserve your driving privileges
and potentially avoid maximum penalties.
Darrigo, Diaz, & Jimenez, Attorneys at Law are available 24/7 to answer
To request a free and confidential consultation with our firm, please call
us at (813) 774-3341, or fill out an
online contact form.